We're just 46 days away from the official conference dates and we have another lists of guests to announce! Please join us in welcoming the following to the Quills 2020 Writing Conference:


Charlie N. Holmberg is the award-winning author of the Numina series, The Fifth Doll, and many others. Her Wall Street Journal bestselling Paper Magician series has been optioned by the Walt Disney Company. Charlie’s stand-alone novel, Followed by Frost, was nominated for a 2016 RITA Award for Best Young Adult Romance. Born in Salt Lake City, Charlie was raised a Trekkie alongside three sisters, who also have boy names. She is a proud BYU alumna, plays the ukulele, and owns too many pairs of glasses. She currently lives with her family in Utah. https://charlienholmberg.com/

An award-winning ghostwriter and editor, Danielle Kaheaku has worked in the entertainment industry for the past twelve years. She has active memberships in the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, the international Horror Writers Association, and the Romance Writers Association Published Author Network. She lectures and adjuncts at two universities, she is the co-founder for the San Diego HWA Chapter and is an Editor at Omnium Gatherum Media. She has a BA in English and MA in English and Creative Writing. She has published multiple short stories, four anthologies, nine novels, and several produced screenplays. Her projects have won multiple screen and literary awards including Gold at the International Independent Film Awards (2018), Gold at the California Film Awards (2017), Silver in the International Independent Film Awards (2016), Award of Merit at the New Renaissance Film Festival in London (2016), Hollywood Screenings Film Festival Semi-Finalist (2016), Best Experimental Short at the Chandler International Film Festival (2016), and two Foreword Book of the Years (2009, 2008).

USA Today bestseller Elana Johnson writes adult contemporary beach romance. She is the author of over 130 books across two names, and there's nothing better than sun, sand, and swoon-worthy kisses! Unless it's a sweet-and-sexy cowboy - read those under her pen name of Liz Isaacson.

Hugo winning and Nebula nominated editor and author Elsa Sjunneson is a deafblind hurricane in a vintage dress. Her work has appeared in the Fate Accessibility Toolkit, Marvel's Jessica Jones: Playing with Fire, CNN Opinion, and more. In addition to writing and editing, she is an advocate for disability rights. Her debut memoir Alone in the Light releases in 2021. She lives in the Pacific Northwest.

J.H. Moncrieff’s City of Ghosts won the 2018 Kindle Book Review Award for Best Horror/Suspense. She won Harlequin's international search for “the next Gillian Flynn” in 2016. Her supernatural suspense GhostWriters series has earned rave reviews from Kirkus, BlueInk, and Library Journal. Moncrieff began her writing career as a journalist, tracking down snipers and canoeing through crocodile-infested waters. Her articles have appeared in many publications, including Chatelaine, FLARE, Writer’s Digest, and The Globe and Mail. When not writing, she loves exploring haunted places, advocating for animal rights, and summoning her inner ninja in muay thai class.

J. Scott Savage is the author of the Case File 13 series (Harper-Collins), and the FarWorld and Mysteries of Cove middle-grade fantasy series (Shadow Mountain). Case File 13: Zombie Kid was a Junior Library Guild Select Book, and was nominated for the Louisiana Young Readers Choice Award. Mysteries of Cove: Fires of Invention, was nominated for the 2017-18 Young Hoosiers Award. The second book, Gears of Revolution, was nominated for a Cybils Award, and Embers of Destruction, received an Honorable Mention in the 2018 Foreword Book Awards. His newest book, The Lost Wonderland Diaries, will debut on September 1, 2020.

John Robinson IV is a novel and comic book writer who is most well-known for his creator-owned indie-published urban fantasy comic, “Scorpio.” John has also been published for other works such as CORPUS: An anthology of bodily ailments and Kamikaze: Wall Tales. In addition to narrative writing, John runs a Writer’s Chat via discord, hosted by IVWall.net, is the host of the writing podcast "Beyond the IVWall of Writing". He is also a member and administrator for SWRepMatters, a community dedicated to inclusion and diversity.

Lee Murray is a multi-award-winning writer and editor of science fiction, fantasy, and horror (Sir Julius Vogel, Australian Shadows) and a three-time Bram Stoker Award® nominee. Author of the Taine McKenna military thrillers, supernatural crime-noir series The Path of Ra (with Dan Rabarts), Grotesque: Monster Stories, and several books for children, she is proud to have edited fifteen speculative titles, many award-winning. Co-founder of Young New Zealand Writers, and of the Wright-Murray Residency for Speculative Fiction, she is HWA Mentor of the Year and an NZSA Literary Fellow. Lee writes from her Middle-earth office overlooking a cow paddock. @leemurraywriter

Mel Jolly has been "Keeping Creatives Out of the Loony Bin Since 2009." Mel's mission is to teach creatives how to be more productive and less stressed so they can unleash their creative awesomeness on the world. If that sounds good to you, sign up for Mel's quick tips at meljolly.com

Zabé (writing as Z. R.) Ellor is a writer and lit agent from Washington, DC. He holds a BA in English Lit and biology from Cornell University. When not writing, he can be found running, playing video games, and hunting the best brunch deals in Dupont Circle.

Go to top